BeeHive Apple Pie

Standard

My husband and I were feeling creative this evening!  We wanted apple pie but didn’t want to make a whole pie, so we made these little numbers!  I was thrilled when we opened them up and found these adorable little beehives.

 

BeeHive Apple Pies

3 Granny Smith Apples

1 C Flour

1.5 C Sugar

2 Tablespoon Cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon Nutmeg

  • Mix in a large bowl.
  • Carefully flour each apple until thoroughly coated (even between the layers)

Pie Crust

  • Whip up 3 recipies of your favorite pie crust
  • Roll three large circles
  • Set on apple on each

1/2 C Raisins

3 Tablespoon Butter

2 Tablespoons Brown Sugar

  • Mix together
  • Stuff into center of each apple
  • Carefully wrap crust around apples & pinch to close the top.  Patch any holes with extra crust.
  • Place on cookie sheet
IMPORTANT: Freeze crusted apples for 60 minutes.  Bake directly from the freezer.

Baking

  • Preheat oven to 450*F
  • Bake for 15 minutes
  • Reduce heat to 350*F
  • Cover apples with little domes of aluminum foil
  • Bake another 45 minutes
  • Remove foil & bake another 15 minutes or until apples are soft (insert a skewer to test doneness).

Cool completely before slicing in half to serve.

Serves 6

What’s your families favorite original recipe?

From Recipes
About GranolaMom

They call me “Granola”. Yep… that’s what “they” call me! Oh well… I like being “Granola”… If that means that I try my darnedest to approach life as naturally as possible. I love cloth diapering, making my own baby food, freezer mealing (yes, “freezer meal” is a verb… don’t challenge my grammatical abilities until you go on a two hour freezer meal marathon!), line drying, re-purposeing practically everything I can get for free. I avoid prescription & OTC drugs as much as possible (as well as the illegal ones!). I attempt to cook everything from scratch, limit use of household & personal chemical products opting for food based products instead. I homeschool, and I fail at just about everything before I succeed at some things!… Call me Granola… and if you tell me I can’t do something, I’ll just try anyway!

Leave a Reply

